Friday, September 10, 2010

WABA annual membership meeting

WABA's annual membership meeting, held last night in DC, was a chance for WABA members to meet Shane Farthing, WABA's new Executive Director, WABA staff, and the WABA board. WABA staff gave an overview of an impressive list of the many activities they've pursued over the previous year. Former WABA director Eric Gilliland wasn't able to attend but wished WABA well in the future via video.

Dorcas, Chantal, and Jenn gave a loving tribute to Eve DeCoursey, WABA's former membership and development director. Eve is critically ill and no longer able to work. Dorca's filled us in on Eve's impressive history as an advocate and athlete. In 1975 she helped found the Hawaii Bicycling League and served as their Executive Director from 1986 - 2002. From the Hawaii Bicycling League website:
Eve was several times the Hawaii Woman's State Road Racing Champion. She then used her longtime experience as a road cyclist and coach to teach and inspire new cyclists. Eve had that special spark of friendship that always made other cyclists feel at home, welcomed, valued and among friends. She was the heart of cycling in Honolulu. Many people owe their start in cycling to Eve’s positive encouragement.

As you ride the 2010 Century, honor Eve by being kind to all cyclists, pedestrians and motorists. Remember that in our rides, large and small, we are all connected by care and respect for each other. Ride safe! Be like Eve and Ride Aloha!
Advocacy Awards were given to Jack Cochrane, Chair of Montgomery County Bike Advocates (MoBike) for everything he does to make Montgomery County more bicycle-friendly, and Heather Deutsch, Bicycle Program Specialist, District Department of Transportation (DDOT) for championing the Metropolitan Branch Trail. A Volunteer Award was given to Jason Clock, WABA bike valet and events volunteer, and the first annual Pierre Summerville Education Award was given to Christine Gilliard, physical education teacher at Gladys Noon Spellman Elementary School in Prince George's County.

The WABA board election was held, with four new members joining the board: Eric Fingerhut, Emily Littleton, Philip Lyon, and Mark Blacknell. In the photo on the left board members include, from the left: (a partial) Randall Myers (Sec), Philip Lyon, Mark Blacknell, Dana Wolfe, Bruce Wright, Barbara Kleiforth (Pres), Paul D'Eustachio (Treas), Casey Anderson, Emily Littleton (sorry about the lens flare), Martin Moulton (VP), Eric Fingerhut, and Jim Titus. See the WABA website for more info on WABA board members.



Post a Comment

Contact FABB via email:

Subscribe to the
FABB e-newsletter

Subscribe to posts:
[Atom 1.0] or [RSS 2.0]

  Bike to Work Day 2015 at Wiehle Station

  Transportation choices

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?


February 2007
March 2007
April 2007
May 2007
June 2007
July 2007
August 2007
September 2007
October 2007
November 2007
December 2007
January 2008
February 2008
March 2008
April 2008
May 2008
June 2008
July 2008
August 2008
September 2008
October 2008
November 2008
December 2008
January 2009
February 2009
March 2009
April 2009
May 2009
June 2009
July 2009
August 2009
September 2009
October 2009
November 2009
December 2009
January 2010
February 2010
March 2010
April 2010
May 2010
June 2010
July 2010
August 2010
September 2010
October 2010
November 2010
December 2010
January 2011
February 2011
March 2011
April 2011
May 2011
June 2011
July 2011
August 2011
September 2011
October 2011
November 2011
December 2011
January 2012
February 2012
March 2012
April 2012
May 2012
June 2012
July 2012
August 2012
September 2012
October 2012
November 2012
December 2012
January 2013
February 2013
March 2013
April 2013
May 2013
June 2013
July 2013
August 2013
September 2013
October 2013
November 2013
December 2013
January 2014
February 2014
March 2014
April 2014
May 2014
June 2014
July 2014
August 2014
September 2014
October 2014
November 2014
December 2014
January 2015
February 2015
March 2015
April 2015
May 2015
June 2015
July 2015
August 2015
September 2015
October 2015
November 2015
December 2015
January 2016
February 2016
March 2016
April 2016
May 2016
June 2016
July 2016